Looking Back, Looking Forward

 

My Personal Learning Network was quite limited when I began this program. Having not had too many years under my belt, there weren’t many other avenues other than the ones I already knew about. This program changed all that. My PLN went Ka-Boom and now I can’t even keep up with it. The MAET people I have met have been so great to work with. The feedback and constructive ideas I get have been so beneficial to my learning. It is my PLN that helps me max out my potential. They even see the potential before I even know there is anything to work with. My sister has always had this saying, “use your resources.” She would say it all the time, even before I knew what resources were. That phrase has seeped into my life and its all about resources. While I don’t like to think about this way, there is a limit to what I can do by myself (I probably will never say this again). My PLN invigorates me and gives me the confidence to know that there is always a way. Remember that saying “where there’s a will, there’s a way”? Well, the will is definitely in me and its my PLN that shows me the way. I can do all things because of my PLN, its as simple as that.

So where do I/we go from here?

I will continue to be who I was before this journey and my expanded PLN will enhance who I will continue to be. There are certain areas I have become more passionate about and I will definitely dive deeper into those areas. I will most likely expand my PLN further as I begin to scratch the surface of those deep waters. One thing I have committed myself to since the beginning was to be mindful of my PLN. I wanted to make sure that my PLN was reflective of who I was. I didn’t want to have this big pool of members for the sake of numbers. I have continued to be mindful and in doing so I have developed respect and trust in my PLN. I definitely plan on teaching my students about Personal Learning Networks – what they are, how to use them, how to collaborate with them, and how to grow them. Our PLNs are one of our most important life lines.

Thank you to everyone who has helped shape this journey. We suffered together and we celebrated together. You have opened my eyes to so much and I am excited and encouraged to see where we all go from here. It has been quite the journey, hasn’t it? We can finally stop a moment to take a breath, but don’t stop for too long because our journey continues and somewhere we find ourselves at the start of another journey.

 

One response to “Looking Back, Looking Forward

  1. I feel honored to be a part of your PLN. I feel like I had some semblance of a PLN before this class, but I didn’t know how to utilize it effectively so I didn’t end up using it very often. I can’t imagine taking this course without my PLN. Everyone has helped me to grow so much by providing me with ideas, feedback, and new resources. I now know the power of what my PLN can do for me, and there’s no turning back!

Leave a Reply

